Merino Vs. Blue Face Leicester

This morning I went to my pile of dyed wool that’s waiting to be spun, and pulled out a bunch of lovely soft stuff, that I remembered dyeing with logwood a couple of weeks ago.  Only one problem.  I couldn’t remember if it was Merino or BFL.  Fortunately, I was clever and figured it out with my specialized problem-solving device – Knowledge!  Forcing myself to review what I know about the two breeds got me thinking about all the places I’ve seen wool for sale with descriptions like “It’s just like Merino but easier to spin!” when there are actually quite a few differences between them.  So I wrote up a giant explanation of them and posted it to the shop blog.  I like having educated customers.

It’s mostly based on my own experiences and opinions with them, so I would be happy to hear if anybody has had different ones.  I like being educated too!

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Merino Vs. Blue Face Leicester”

  1. flannelberry Says:

    I so wish I couldn’t relate. I have a few bags of “mystery fibre”. It’s all good wool but I’ll be darned if I can recall exactly what breed!

Leave a Reply

