I think I killed them

My madder plants, that is.  There was some orange mouldy fungusy looking stuff on the soil, so I decided to not water for a day to let it dry out a bit and maybe kill it.  But then I forgot to water them yesterday, too.  This morning they’re looking pretty dead.  I think one may have survived,  out of seven.  The elecampane looks okay, and I think some of the dyer’s chamomile will also be fine.

Fortunately, I have more seeds, an we got the dirt to fill the pots with a couple of weeks ago, so I think I’ll just plant them directly into the pots outside.  It’ll be slower starting, but since you can’t harvest the stuff for two or three years I’m not really in a hurry.

And as my darling boyfriend pointed out, if they do survive they’ll be stronger, and crave brains.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

