Mission: Sowing

Yesterday I remembered that I had several decent-sized pots in the garage.  Which means (yippee hooray!) that I could plant my woad seeds!  I would have just put them straight into the garden, but we’ve been getting weird cold-warm-cold-warm cycles and while they’re supposed to be over, I’d hate for them to sprout only to be killed by yet another late night frost.  Also, I really like watching the first few weeks of a plant’s life and it’s much easier to  do that when they’re on the window sill in my studio than out in the backyard.

I did three pots, with two rows in each one, so when they sprout I’ll thin them down to two plants in each pot, then separate them when they go into the garden, leaving me with six plants.  According to A Dyer’s Garden, six plants will produce enough dyestuff to dye an ounce of wool.  She’s not very specific though.  I don’t know if that means they’ll produce that much dye over the whole summer or in one harvest session.  I’m guessing the latter, but I’ll just have to wait to find out for sure.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

